The Purpose of Parenting (Why a Miscarriage is A Success)

In the last couple weeks I have been struggling – which is to be expected.

Everything is to be expected – bleeding, pain, hormones, depression, tears.

I was sitting in the emergency room last week across from a room that had a beautiful baby inside, about six or seven months. She didn’t stop crying the entire time I was there – about four hours. The nurse looked at me like I was crazy.

“You’re sure you want one of those?”

Her mother was attentive, not leaving her, talking to her, trying to calm her down. The parenting had already started.

To parent is to guide,

through life,

through hurts,

through hope, 

to find Jesus and His redemption.

Successful parenting is guiding a child to heaven.

It feels like it is shredding me to pieces – but I have a child in heaven

I have not lost forever, just for now. 

I am assured that at some point I’ll start to hurt less.

Right now – knowing there is a purpose to it is my comfort,

and knowing our family has grown by one is beautiful.

– M

2 thoughts on “The Purpose of Parenting (Why a Miscarriage is A Success)

  1. I just stumbled on your blog today, and I wanted to tell you how much this post means to me. I miscarried my first child last month, and this is so comforting and healing to read. My husband and I have only been married a few months, and having such sorrow follow so closely after such joy, has grown and tested us in many ways. The line “I have not lost forever, just for now.”, is just what my soul desperately needs to hear! Thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

