The Cluttered Mind

My room is a mess right now, boxes everywhere. My family is selling the house we are currently living in and I have been cleaning and culling my room for the past week. It isn’t that I am a messy person, in fact, I can be rather meticulous as far as my room is concerned. My problem are gifts and hammy downs from my generous friends and family. I feel guilty if I don’t keep everything even if I don’t need or use them, so I pack them up in boxes and store them behind my closet. Now I’m having to deal with a surplus of things I have never touched. Just filled with stuff I don’t need.
I can’t relax in my room or sleep because there are piles of trash and boxes, some a even on the bed I’m trying to sleep on.

Clutter: a disordered state

Lately my mind has been the same way. Filled with thoughts and questions about a million things. Running so fast without direction, unfocused. Maybe it is all the changes and new things, feeling out of my depth. My mind has been opening box after box leaving them unpacked to go open other boxes.

The undisciplined state of my mind is spilling out into my daily habits. My actions are as random and undirected as the thoughts driving them.

Laziness, poor stewardship of time, has a source, an attitude of the mind. I trick myself into thinking that I am productive by doing several things at the same time when doing a few things excellently with focus would be the better thing.
I need to cull my mind, clean out the little bits that aren’t encouraging me in the things that matter.

Recently, a pastor told me to think deeply about Philippians 4:4-8,

” Rejoice in the Lord always, again I will say rejoice. Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand, do not be anxious about anything, but in everything with thanksgiving, by prayer and supplication, let your request be made known to God and the peace of God which surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus. Finally brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.”

Rejoice and be reasonable.

Live in the light of Christ’s return and don’t worry.

Be grateful.

Pray and ask humbly.

God will give you peace in the circumstance and His direction to fill your heart and mind and follow Jesus.

Fill your mind with the best thoughts that will draw you closer and make you more like Christ.

Paul starts with actions and then closes in on the mental attitude.

It all draws back to being transformed by the renewing of my mind. Reflecting on God’s Word, letting it change my heart and mind.

– W

Leave a Reply

