The Littles: A Valentine

Screen Shot 2013-02-12 at 8.36.24 PMMost of us are not lucky enough to have life long friends from your childhood. I am and while I may not talk to them everyday or even month, I know they are always there when I need them. I knew every single one of these girls by the time I was in fourth grade and by the time I graduated couldn’t imagine life without them. This Valentine is for them, to remind them of the special place they have in my life and encourage them as they make lives of their own all over the world.

“There is nothing I would not do for those who are really my friends. I have no notion of loving people by halves, it is not my nature.”
– Jane Austen

Dear B, RD, RG, E, S, C, and T,

You know who you are.

Each of you have been there for me in a hard season of my life and encouraged me to draw closer to God. When I was little my mom prayed that I would have godly friends and you were the answer to those prayers. I am amazed by the places you are going in following His call yourselves. You are getting married, being an exemplary airman, dancing professionally, and going to college and theater school, from coast to coast you are all doing amazing things even if it just seems hard right now.

We have done crazy things together, gotten in trouble, been around for the most important parts of each others lives, and stayed in touch despite distance. And when we do lose touch, there is always that long phone call, letter, or surprise visit that puts all to right.

You have taught me lessons in friendship that I couldn’t have learned from any book or class. You are the people I am completely honest and genuine with, which somehow you love despite my scathing cynicism and arrogance.

Every conversation we have is honest, we talk about our failures, struggles, goals, successes, and encourage each other just by listening. We have baked hundreds of cookies, cleared out Starbucks, directed entire plays in your front yard, had girl’s nights, written classy letters that make us sound British, and been known as everything from the “Evil K-mart Twins” to “Holmes and Watson.”

You have made me laugh, let me cry, helped me talk through my problems, and just generally been there. I am one of the most blessed people in the world for having known each of you. I would have been lucky to have known just one of you, but knowing all of you is an act of Providence. Your friendship is one of the most convincing proofs for God in my life. The probability of not one, but six godly women in my life can’t be chance.

Thank you for being there and I will always be there for you.

Thank you for encouraging me, I will try to do this for you.

Thank you for letting me be a part of your life because you are huge part of mine.

I love you, I bet you didn’t think I was capable of this kind of sentiment.

It will probably never happen again.

Happy Valentine’s Day,

Love,

W

2 thoughts on “The Littles: A Valentine

Leave a Reply

