Life on A Tangent

I remember that crummy lesson in trigonometry  when we had to learn sine, cosine, and tangent. At the end we had memorize a ream of fractions and degrees. I like math, but that day in class my mind was elsewhere. Because I didn’t pay attention, I spent the next several weeks teaching myself the math I missed and while the equations were simple enough I never learned the teacher’s way of doing things. I enjoyed it. It was a challenge.

Tangent:  a straight line or plane that touches a curve or curved surface at a point, but if extended does not cross it at that point;  a completely different line of thought or action

My life is a bit of a tangent. I have one thing I set out to do and rather large tangents come along like taking care of women from church, working on farms, and going to Texas to take care of my grandmother. I try to finish my degree and life gets in the way.

Life is full of tangents, the interesting bits.

-W

Leave a Reply

