Respectably Flawed: Why We Need the Gospel Everyday

Ungodliness, Unthankfulness, Anxiety, Frustration, Discontentment, Pride, Selfishness, 9781600061400_p0_v1_s260x420Lack of Self-Control, Impatience, Irritability, Gossip, Any Untruth, Sarcasm, Crude Speech,  Anger, Judgmentalism, Envy, Jealousy, Worldliness.

Did one of these topics send a pang of guilt to your soul? The first time I read them, I was reminded about how fallen I am. By the end of the book, every chapter had highlighted the failings in my life.

My mom gave me my first Jerry Bridges book when I was twelve. The Pursuit of Holiness changed my focus from doing good just to do good to doing good as a way to bring more pleasure and glory to God and being enveloped in Him which develops holiness.

The next one I picked up was Respectable Sins, but I didn’t finish it until recently. I regret that because I would have grown closer sooner.

How do you respond to this?

“Lord, I am willing
To receive what You give.
To lack what You withhold.
To relinquish what You take,
To suffer what You inflict,
To be what you require.”

That prayer, so simple, reflects the heart of this book. So often our circumstances dictate our actions and we do not take the time to be grateful, Godly, at peace, content, humble, giving, temperate, patient, gracious with our words, and living in a way that is different than the world around us.

Bridges challenges us to take a long hard look at our lives. We are fallen. We are corrupt. We need Jesus. Every day our actions should reflect the continuing grace of Christ at work in our lives.

Christ died for you. Does that mean you are free to act like you don’t care?

Christ took our sins. Does this mean feeling constantly anxious and frustrated over unforeseen circumstances is alright?

Christ’s sacrifice freed you from Hell. Does a quick thank you for the food cover that?

No.

It doesn’t.

Don’t read it if you don’t want to be convicted.

– W

Leave a Reply

