What is in a Name?

Words used to have significance, meaning.

There was a time when children were named because of events, lessons in life, and character flaws. Words were chosen carefully and used in the correct way.

A board game was not awesome.

Awesome: extremely impressive or daunting; inspiring great admiration, apprehension, or fear

This describes an atomic bomb or being in the presence of God.

“O kingdoms of the earth, sing to God;
sing praises to the Lord, Selah
to him who rides in the heavens, the ancient heavens;
behold, he sends out his voice, his mighty voice.
 Ascribe power to God,
whose majesty is over Israel,
and whose power is in the skies.
 Awesome is God from his sanctuary;
the God of Israel—he is the one
who gives power and strength to his people.
Blessed be God!”

This is the God who inspires fear and admiration from his holy place, The God of Israel.

Not the super cool-io new feature on your x-box.

Words have become over-used and under-conceived. I have firsthand experience in this area. We have created a habit of incessant chatter in our lives. Silence in a conversation is not considered thoughtful anymore, but awkward. Is this because we no longer think for ourselves?

I urge you to listen to yourself speak today. Do you give needless details and lose your point? I do.

Do you add onomatopoeias and have a phrase you say when you have nothing else to say? I say, “hm.” My little sister says, “So, like yeah.” I don’t know how to punctuate that.

Speak Less, Think More

What is the quality of your words? Do you find yourself saying a lot about nothing at all?

I’m bad at communicating clearly. I need at least a minute to formulate what I want to say and then more time to articulate it. This is why I hate talking on the phone. People don’t understand that I need to think about what they say and then respond. For me, there really are no quick answers.

We live in a society that expects quick reactions. People are insulted if you don’t message them back with in ten minutes of receiving it. A meal must be made in ten minutes or less. You have to be up to the second with the current trends or lost in the mounting  bits and bytes that hold the world together.

With all these words it is easy to make habits that can erode your life. With the inflation of words, their value is decreasing so much that most words are being used in ways that degrade, offend,  scar, and build walls.

We are reminded in Proverbs 10,

“When words are many, transgression is not lacking,
but whoever restrains his lips is prudent.
 The tongue of the righteous is choice silver;
the heart of the wicked is of little worth.”

Our words should be choice silver, used to bring relief, joy, grace, peace, and love into others lives.

I think I have been giving myself this spiel for a while now. So I suppose, since I have made my point, I should avoid both irony and superfluity.

-W

One thought on “What is in a Name?

  1. I have been receiving your blog for several weeks now and I have been impressed in the past, then I read this blog… Ouch! I am one who relies on my quick comebacks to make it through a conversation. I can’t stand silences (they definitely make me feel awkward), and I over use words like ‘awesome’. Your post made me realize that I am one to fill the empty silences with chatter, and that I use certain words toward undeserving subjects or items not realizing the weight and significance of the words I use. Your post definitely hit a sore spot and then it really got me thinking, THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

