Peanut Butter, Apples, and the FDA

As a gluten-free individual I struggle with getting enough carbs and protein to maintain a healthy diet, so like any health conscious individual I eat about a jar of peanut butter a week…

Peanut butter and rice cakes

Peanut butter and banana

Peanut butter and hummus…maybe not

But when apple season comes around I have the best combo of the year. Apples and peanut butter for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

The only problem  is the recall on peanut butter which is threatening to ruin the staple of my existence.

Now, every bite puts me at risk of salmonella. Dad had me tracking the lot numbers and checking every batch and jar with FDA lists.

– W

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter, Apples, and the FDA

  1. I love peanut butter, but it is really high in omega 6’s, which are inflammation inducers. You can try to mitigate it a bit with krill oil. Walnuts too, very high omega 6. You might want to consider adding to your menu. Spaghetti squash is very versatile and carby. Potatoes? Parade. Rain. I’m off to bed 🙂

  2. It is high in omega 6’s, but I don’t eat anything else that gives me the omega 6 to balance out the omega 3’s that I eat in spades. I do eat walnuts by the handful too though, so I could probably cut back a bit. Peanut butter is my go to food because it is the easiest gluten free thing to deal with.
    We do eat spaghetti squash, but our garden limits us to about once a week and our potato crop was not as good as we might of like. I am hoping that our turnips will come out in the next week or two.
    The good thing is that I don’t eat much, so I can make a meal out of two tablespoons of peanut butter and an apple, but variety is a problem.
    We have a good amount of chard and kale right now, so that breaks everything up nicely.
    Isn’t the rain wonderful?

Leave a Reply

