Young Dogs Should Learn Old Tricks

The best line I have ever gotten was, “you look like a million bucks and I don’t even have to pay one to see you.”   The man who told me that packs a handgun, a no nonsense attitude, and eighty or so years of experience in talking to girls. Why are old men so charming? Even the rough around the edges and slightly terrifying ones can really turn the charm on without completely insulting young women.

Today, while picking up a gluten free tv dinner and Magnum bars, I happened to pass a little fundraiser for the veterans of foreign wars. I hate passing the booths without saying thank you at least, but I didn’t have cash or anything to give so I slipped inside. On my way out I said a quick thank you to the two old men running it and tried to get to the parking lot.  I heard a, “Wait a minute.” from behind me and turned feeling a little guilty for having nothing to give.

“Yes, sir?” I thought maybe he knew me or my dad from somewhere.

“Could you do that again?”

I had no idea what he was talking about. “What again?” I felt myself smiling nervously.

“That.  Smile”

I blushed, my traditional response, and smiled at both of the men, more than a little embarrassed.

“Aren’t you pretty. Have a poppy for being a pretty young lady.”

I took the poppy and tucked it in my shirt as I said thank you and then, of course, they thanked me. It made my day, I literally beamed all the way back to my car and most of the way home. A dead rabbit in the middle of the road ruined the moment.

I think you don’t have to teach an old dog new tricks because the old tricks still work well.

-W

Leave a Reply

