Nature: God’s Everyday Providence

What is the best thing about nature to you and why?

I was asked this question along with a couple others last night while my inquisitor grinned in a most terrifying manor.

My answer was that each part of nature exhibits the attributes, presence, and providence of God. Though I was much less eloquent and my inquisitor  had to sit through five minutes of my rambling at ten o’clock at night, I think he got the point.

“The heavens declare the glory of God; 
    the skies proclaim the work of his hands. 
Day after day they pour forth speech;
    night after night they reveal knowledge. 
They have no speech, they use no words;
    no sound is heard from them.
Yet their voice goes out into all the earth,
    their words to the ends of the world. “

– Psalm 19:1-3

I could not stop thinking about it this morning and finally understood exactly what I was trying to say. All of nature is a witness that God is everywhere except a tomb in Jerusalem.

-W

One thought on “Nature: God’s Everyday Providence

Leave a Reply

