Little Moments

Every so often there are little things I notice that make me laugh or just remind me why every day is a gift.

1. Thursday – I went to a Bible study where the family has seven kids. Two of them, my age, are away for college and their youngest brother, 4 or 5, misses his older sisters a lot. He curled up in my lap when I sat down and chattered away for about thirty minutes drawing pictures in my notebook of his house, my name, his name, and kisses for his sister. Before his mom sent him outside to play during Bible study he kissed me on the cheek and told me I laughed like his sister. This garnered a disapproving look from the boys across the table which signaled his quick retreat.

2. Friday – Mom and I were getting ready to put the bees in their hive, so I was boiling a simple syrup to feed the bees. Stirring sugar water is verrrrrrrry boring, so I improvised using the voice of an old hag from Hamlet:

Double, double toil and trouble;
Fire burn, and caldron bubble.
Fillet of a fenny snake,
In the caldron boil and bake;
Eye of newt, and toe of frog,
Wool of bat, and tongue of dog.

It made watching a pot boil much more enjoyable.

3. Wednesday – Of course, getting a job…

4. Sunday – Today, sitting, writing blog posts, and listening to a cappella versions of Africa by Toto.

Its the little things….

– W

Leave a Reply

