Favorite Hymns

When I was younger, dad used to get me those books of pulpit jokes to read for fun. I remember one in particular. A church was having financial troubles, so they auctioned off everything they could think of one Sunday morning instead of having a service. The last thing to be auctioned was the hymn choice for the next Sunday morning, the winner could choose three hymns for the next Sunday. An older lady won and was asked to name her choices. She stood up and pointed at three young men, “I choose him,him, and him.”

I try to post a new hymn on my Facebook page every so often to remind my friends and myself about the wonderful truth of the old songs. I keep finding myself reposting or wanting to repost three of my favorites. I did not evnow know I had favorites until this morning when I went to post Blessed Assurance and realized I had posted it twice thisAyer and written a blogpost with it last year. So without further ado…

1. Blessed Assurance

Heir of Salvation, Purchace of God

Born of His Spirit, Washed in His blood.

 


2. Come Thou Fount

I played this one in a recital once and the third verse always stuck in my head.

Prone to wander, Lord I feel it.

Prone to leave the God I love.

Here is my heart, Take and seal it

Seal it for thy courts above.

3. Nearer My God to Thee

I knew this one from the Titanic’s wreck, but a friend sent me the link to this version. While the words still flow through my head, the beauty of the cellos take my breath away and remind me that my goal ever nearer my God to be.

– W

 

Leave a Reply

