No Reserves

William Borden: heir to millions, did not see himself as entitled to any lifestyle. Instead he followed God’s calling in missions giving up physical wealth and notoriety to serve Christ. After graduating from high school his parents sent him on a trip through Asia, the Middle East and Europe. It was during this time he realized he was called to the mission field. parents and friends balked as Borden talked about going back and serving these people. It was during this time he made a commitment to God and to himself to live fully and passionately for God in what ever place he was.

No Reserves.

This was found written in the back of his Bible after he died in Egypt of spinal meningitis at the age of twenty-five

There is much more to the story and I hope to be able to continue to tell it, but I want to commit myself to living unreservedly for Christ, be an example and encouragement for His people, and a light to a dark world. There is a lot of need around me, but I tend to cloister myself to get away from people to protect myself from getting hurt.

Recently I realized in doing this I have missed out on ministry and only served to hamper my walk with Christ.

Historically Lent is a time of fasting, prayer, and rigorous self denial to prepare one’s soul for the Passion Week. This Lent I want to do something a little different. I am committing to three things for the next thirty five days.

1) A Bible Study by nancy Leigh DeMoss developing intimacy with God.

2) Praying for and Encouraging the believers around me

3) Figuring out what no Reserves means for me, right here, right now, in my quest to live adventurously in everyday life.

A lot has happened in my life lately and I feel like my heavenly Potter is starting to shape this stubborn lump of clay.

– W

Leave a Reply

