Politics and Religion

What goes through the mind of a person when they are enclosed in a space that is 2x2x3 for three days while being transported across four states?

In my case, massive amounts of reading and writing, knitting, and a Michael Crichton Audiobook.

I started Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged which so far has accurately depicted the entrepreneur’s dilemma. The ones who work hard to improve their companies are harassed at every turn by litigation passed by ignorant and careless men who don’t care about their work and hate to see others succeed. Maybe that is a bit harsh, but in a book written by an objectivistic atheist how could there be much hope. A man produces a new type of metal, so the public deems it unsafe. The railroad uses it anyway. The public boycotts the railroad. The woman leaves the company and starts her own rail company. The public ignores her and has a Scientific Institution release a false statement about the stability of the metal. They complete the railway. The public passes a law that says no man can have more than one vested interest. Man sells to relatives and runs the businesses through them. New rail road succeeds. The public says they are monopolizing the new metal and everyone should be able to manufacture and sell it. Aggravating. That is only one part of the story, but it is the part that irks me the most.

I can see myself in Dagny Taggart, the woman who runs the rail road. We are both driven purposed and have an attitude that says, ” Who needs a fulcrum. Give me space to move and I will change the world.” I know this will destroy her by the end of the book. Our differences? I have God and she does not. My purpose and goals give me more than just drive and grit, but also a solid knowledge of the truth, the truth Dagny was always trying to find in herself, in the men she was with, and in the rail road. She is empty. I am made full in Christ.

I took a break from Rand to read Thoreau’s Civil Disobedience which intensified my thoughts on the minorities influence on the whole body. There is so much to think about. To begin with the impact of the Church on the State, what the States attitude toward the Church should be, the Church as the State, the State as the Church, and what my duty is as a citizen of State who does not rule justly.

“A minority is powerless while it conforms to the majority; it is not even a minority then; but it is irresistible when it clogs by its whole weight.”

– Thoreau, Civil Disobedience.

– W

 

Leave a Reply

