If Music…

Shakespeare once said, “If music be the food of love, play on.”

How can the sweet simplicity of Bach’s Prelude in C bring tears? Or the high strains of Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus bring a king to his feet?

It is another kind of miracle. It brings people together and leaves them with a lingering tune and a smile.

Or in Germany of 1914 when the Germans and the British sang Silent Night together and exchanged gifts on Christmas Day.

Food of love or language of heaven – music is a gift and this Christmas it is all I can afford to give to my loved ones… or is there any way they will like it ?

“What can I give him poor as I am?

If I were a shepherd, I would bring him a lamb.

If I were a wise man, I would do my part.

What can I give him? Give him my heart.”

– Christina Rosetti

Leave a Reply

