Thanksgiving: An Intro to Christmas

I am thankful for my family, those that are here, scattered, and have died.
I am thankful for my friends, old and new.
I am thankful for my adventures this year and the direction God has given me.
I am thankful for life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness; the men and women who have defended it and are defending it; and the hope our country will always have because we are one nation under God.
I am thankful for myself, for what God has done in me this year, and the assurance that He who has began a good work in me will complete it.
I am thankful for every trial and difficult time God has allowed in my life this year and the ones that are going to come knowing he will never test me beyond what I am able in Christ to endure.
I am thankful for the little things: Times to rest, times to laugh, times to dance, Times to make music, times to love. 
Most of all I am thankful for the perfect life, unwarranted death, and true victory of Jesus Christ over death which gave me life in Him and true joy.

Thanksgiving has come and gone in a whirl wind. This one had its share of frustrations and hold ups before sitting down with the family (all twenty two of us). It began with celebration of all the things we have and another reminder of how good God is to us and me in particular. This was followed by yet another bad reaction to my current medication which knocked me out for a solid two hours. 

After this my family and I banded together ironing napkins, cooking food of all sorts, cleaning floors and generally falling behind. Of course our guests decided to come early by which point my gluten free pumpkin pie was still baking, I had just tried sautéing what was considered too much in a pan that was too small and I still needed to shower. 

Of course like any good story within an hour every one was gathering around our island ready to pray with all the food ready. Our family has grown by four in the last year, one of my cousins married a great young man with two spunky young girls and they recently had a precious little girl. As usual I was relegated to the children’s table due to my lack of spouse, but fortunately food can be enjoyed in many places. The turkey was delicious, the stuff in superb, and even my pumpkin pie came out well. 

But there is a price to pay when so many people eat so much food. Our price? Namely, hours of dishes, cleaning, and distribution of leftovers. Now it is eight o’clock and we are finally sitting down to enjoy the beginning of Christmas. We had lunch at two. Everyone left at five thirty. During this operation, C discovered static electricity and Mom enjoyed the use of her new gadget, an iPhone 4S… It figures, our dishwasher does not work, but we have the latest technological doohickeys. 

Tomorrow, C, Mom, and I are headed to a packing center for Operation Christmas Child with friends from church and the next day return to settle in for a week or so before heading off for Christmas with relatives out of state. 

Now, I am feeling like something is missing and not quite ready for the holidays. Christmas has begun whether I will or no. I am resigned to it clothed in green and red plaid watching Scrooge, the musical with Albert Finney, and looking forward to celebrating the first coming of Jesus and looking forward to his second coming. 

Merry Christmas, and God bless us, everyone.

 – W 

 

Leave a Reply

