“Toto, We’re Not in Kansas Any More”

Note: This is an archive of an earlier post written while I was in Indo. This was about the last week.

We have had a crazy couple of weeks and we hope to catch up at some point, but with busy schedules and fickle internet we aren’t quite sure when that will happen. I can at least give a quick summary from Sunday to now.

Sunday morning after getting to sleep in until six and real coffee (non-instant – Starbucks) we hiked Galunngung… again for a few of us, but this time it was all jungle. It was insane. We spent eight hours fighting brush, sliding in mud, watching out for cliffs, and eating food at the top. It was a great team bonding experience. We all ruined at least a shirt… good thing it was our last week on the farm.

We worked as usual Monday and Tuesday, but we were all a bit mellowed by the thought of leaving the farm that Friday. Wednesday we took time to debrief our farm time and make a half way assessment of our time. We all started looking at our selves and searching for areas where we needed God to scour and change, so we could put His armour on. That night we heard from an intercessor to be prepared to pray expectantly that God had laid that on her heart to tell us.

Thursday was our last day of work. It was very strange. We were continuously reminded that I was the end of our time by the ibu (women), but it still didn’t feel like the end. After work we had a purpesahon (per-pee-sa-han) (sic…) , a large good bye party with lots of food, photo taking, tears, apologies for any offenses, and expressions of gratitude to all who extended hospitality to us ( i.e.  – those responsible for the dozen or so bags of cupruk (cooprook), a styrofoamesque multicoloured popped rice flour disk). Then we proceeded to pack and by ten o’clock this morning we headed off to our field mentor’s house in T-town.

We were planning to leave for a five day intensive trip tomorrow, but, as previously posted by Rachel, Providence had other plans. I am so grateful that God has been preparing us during the last week for this with studies on prayer, the Holy Spirit, the intercessor’s words, morning devo’s directed at self examination, and a close team. Please continue to lift up our cousin friends. There is no doubt in our minds that God is doing something here and that there are forces here at work in the spiritual realm.

In closing I would like to quote a famous prayer that I would ask you to pray for our team during this time. St Patrick wrote it during his ministry to the Irish during the age of  druids, demonic influence, and darkness.  What is true for his needs in ministry then are true for us now.

I arise today
Through God’s strength to pilot me;
God’s might to uphold me,
God’s wisdom to guide me,
God’s eye to look before me,
God’s ear to hear me,
God’s word to speak for me,
God’s hand to guard me,
God’s way to lie before me,
God’s shield to protect me,
God’s hosts to save me
From snares of the devil,
From temptations of vices,
From every one who desires me ill,
Afar and anear,
Alone or in a mulitude.

Christ with me, Christ before me, Christ behind me,
Christ in me, Christ beneath me, Christ above me,
Christ on my right, Christ on my left,
Christ when I lie down, Christ when I sit down,
Christ in the heart of every man who thinks of me,
Christ in the mouth of every man who speaks of me,
Christ in the eye that sees me,
Christ in the ear that hears me

-W

Leave a Reply

